What I’m reading…

Our S&S employees have been busy reading. Here are some of the latest reviews and recommendations from our staff of current and upcoming books!

Sian’s reading…

I’m really enjoying Master of None by Sonya Bateman. It’s Urban Fantasy with a male protagonist. Gavyn is a very unlucky thief who suddenly finds himself in possession of a child named Cyrus and a Djinn (genie) named Ian who can turn himself into a wolf. I don’t usually go for male leads in a book, but I’m really enjoying this one so far.

I really like the first two books in the Succubi Diaries series too, by Jill Myles. They’re fun and creative but also feature a lot descriptive, well, succubi-ing. I’m looking forward to the third book all the same.

Loretta’s reading…

I’ve just finished The Husbands and Wives Club, by Laurie Abraham. This isn’t something that I would normally choose for myself, but I really enjoyed it. Laurie combines a significant amount of research with astute and addictive observations of the group therapy sessions she attends throughout the year. This is a surprising and interesting read!

Line’s reading…

I finished reading the arc of The Ark by Boyd Morrison, and was very excited and pumped about this book. It did not let me down. I totally enjoyed reading this book, the plot was so interesting, it would make a really good movie one day. It kept  me reading from the start to finish without wanting to put it down. I’m already spreading word of mouth on this read and so far have received back some positive reviews from others. 

Now I’m reading The Kitchen House  by Canadian author Kathleen Grissom and although this is a totally different read than The ARK, I am thoroughly enjoying it. You get so attached to all of the characters and their very different lives and learn more about the history of slavery. 

Santiago’s reading…

I also read The Ark and it has excitement written all over it. It is an easy commercial read, but an enjoyable one, like watching Con Air or Time Cop on a lazy Sunday afternoon. I’m also close to finishing,  Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry(out in Oct 2010). If you enjoy zombies this is the book for you, possibly one of the best novels out there of this genre. It is not focused on the horror of the zombies, but on how people deal with living in a world that is no longer theirs. I would say a spiritual sequel to Word War Z.

 Mike’s reading…

I’m reading A Beautiful Place to Die by Malla Nun and it’s very good.  Set in Apartheid South Africa it describes the mix of cultures well.  The detective is great, half English half Afrikaner (Boer) from Johannesburg.  He walks through the small South African town in a daze.  Lots of mystery and conflict.  This book is a finalist for the 2010 Edgar Allan Poe Awards given by the Mystery Writers of America. Her new book, Let the Dead Lie is out this April.

Anneliese’s reading…

I just finished Eternal on the Water by Joseph Monninger. It is an endearing and touching love story with a lot of nature imagery and raven folklore that parallels the main storyline. The issue of whether you help a terminally ill loved one end their life is interesting, and I think is a great talking point for book clubs.