Skipping a Beat

Sarah Pekkanen, author of Opposite of Me, returns with her second novel Skipping a Beat.

What would you do if your husband suddenly wanted to rewrite the rules of your relationship?

Julia and Michael meet in high school in their small, poverty-stricken West Virginia hometown. Both products of difficult childhoods they find a sense of safety and mutual understanding in each other. Shortly after graduation they flee West Virgina to start afresh. Now thirty-somethings, they are living a rarefied life in their multi-million-dollar, Washington D.C. home. From the outside it all looks perfect–Julia has become a highly sought-after party planner, while Michael has launched a wildly successful flavored water company that he sold for $70 million.

But then one day Michael stands up at the head of the table in his company’s boardroom and silently crashes to the floor. More than four minutes later, a portable defibrillator manages to jump-start his heart. Yet what happened to Michael during those lost minutes forever changes him. Money is meaningless to him now–and he wants to give it all away to charity. A prenuptial agreement that Julia insisted upon back when Michael’s company was still struggling means she has no claim to his fortune, and now she must decide: should she walk away from the man she once adored, but who truthfully became a stranger to her long before his near-death experience – or should she give in to her husband’s pleas for a second chance and a promise of a poorer but happier life?

Read the first chapter

Visit the author’s website

What would you do if you were in Julia’s shoes? Comment below, then send your name and mailing addresss to audrey@simonandschuster.ca with the subject line Pekkanen and you could win a copy of Skipping a Beat! Contest closes March 22nd.

23 thoughts on “Skipping a Beat

  1. That’s a tough one since there was a falling out of love even before the accident. Personally, I would give him a second chance and go from there. You never know the outcome because feelings could change. Besides the grass in not always greener on the other side.

  2. I’d probably give him another chance. After all, he did just have a near death experience. Besides, maybe it was the money that had changed him. I might just find the man I had married.

  3. I can’t wait to read this! Therre is no right answer just a willingness to take a chance…or not.

  4. Tough call… I would probably give another chance because thats the type of person I am 🙂 Maybe she will find what was lost in their marriage.

  5. Certainly try again – you were already strangers. You did love him once and may fall in love again.

  6. First I wouldnt have done the prenup! But if I was Julia and thats what she wanted, I bet she’d (I’d) stay with hubby until we figured out how this new relationship could work.

  7. Wow/ That would be a tought choice but I think I would do the right thing for lover over money.

  8. I don’t really know what I would do… I come from a poor family and have worked my way up socio-economically, so I understand her lack of understanding when suddenly her husband drastically changes their lives with his altered personality. But I can also understand what a life-changing event can do for one’s perspective on life and what is suddenly important. I suppose, I would try to understand why my husband feels the way he does and ask him what his motives are. I would offer respect and empthay and understanding, but also expect the same in return for my confusion. Thanks!

    Aliya D.
    aliyadaya(at)shaw(dot)ca

  9. A hopeless romantic, I would stick by him – as Maria said, for richer or poorer. If you’re in love it shouldn’t matter.

  10. I think you should stay through thick and thin with your spouse, so the money shouldn’t matter.

  11. I would give my husband another chance and see where it goes from there. If you truely love someone you should stick beside them through thick and thin.

  12. Congratulations. The following readers will receive a copy of Skipping A Beat.

    -Aliya of Calgary
    -Penny of Victoria
    -Catharine of Kingsville
    -Janna of Grassy Lake
    -Angie of Woodbridge
    -Lisa of Chilliwack

    Thanks to everyone for your comments and happy reading 🙂

  13. Thank you for the book! I just received it and I can’t wait to start reading.

Comments are closed.