I’m over it!

Shirley MacLaine is one of the most recognized and admired Hollywood actresses (Steel Magnolias is still one of my favorite movies EVER! Who can forget Shirley as the fiery and cynical character Ouiser!), and undeniably one of the most fearless. Whatever the topic –show business, aging, politics, family, or the future of mankind and the universe– Shirley has never shied away from sharing opinions that are as fascinating as they are honest.

In I’m Over All That, her first collection of essays, Shirley shares her insights on all the things that drive her crazy, inspire her to action, and keep her firmly in the public eye. The pithy, perfectly formed essays include:

  • I’m Over Being Concerned About What I Shouldn’t Do
  • I Am Over Being Polite to Boring People
  • Aging in Hollywood?!? Get Over It!
  • Can’t Remember if I’m Over Memory Loss
  • I’m Trying to Get Over Anger
  • Sex Got Over Me

Along the way, she recalls stories of some of the true greats she has known—Alfred Hitchcock, Elizabeth Taylor, Frank Sinatra, the two Jacks (Lemmon and Nicholson)—and ruminates on the state of Hollywood past and present. She recollects her relationships and romances with politicians (including two prime ministers), scientists, journalists, and costars.

I’m Over All That is MacLaine at her acerbic and irreverent best.

Take a look inside the book

MacLaine will appear on Oprah for the full hour on April 11th, The Today Show on April 12th and The View on April 15th.

Leave a comment about what you’re over below, then send your name and mailing address to audrey@simonandschuster.ca with the subject line Over It! and you could win a copy of I’m Over All That. Contest closes April 15th. Cnd addresses only.

I’m Over All That is in stores April 5th.

18 thoughts on “I’m over it!

  1. I’m over being concerned about meeting other people expectations about what I should or shouldn’t be doing in my life.

  2. I am so over my estranged husband, and emotionally done with his lawyer’s nastiness and the judicial process.

  3. I am over finally living in an empty nest with children scattered far from home.

  4. I’m (TRYING) to be so over people that make me miserable. Workin’ at it, workin’ at it. Need Shirley’s book to give me incentive. I know I can, I know I can….

  5. I’m over feeling bad about myself because I don’t meet or nearly match the expectations of my family and friends; I’m over trying to be someone I am not; I’m over trying to love people I don’t really like… I’m over dieting and trying to loose weight just to be thin, when I should be working on why I am a little heavy. Please accept this as my entry. Thank you!

    Aliya D.
    aliyadaya(at)shaw(dot)ca

  6. Thank you to everyone for your comments and for entering.

    Congratulations to our winners:

    -Erika of Mississauga
    -Vicky of Ridgetown
    -Steve of Delta
    -Melanie of Winnipeg
    -Mindy of Thornhill

    You will all be receiving a copy of I’m Over All That!

Comments are closed.