Canadian history has never been more interesting or more deadly

In Vital Secrets, the third installment of Don Gutteridge’s fast paced and addictive mystery series, it’s fall of 1837 and Lieutenant Marc Edwards of His Majesty’s 24th Regiment of Foot is now an old hand at his post in the colonial backwater of Toronto, Upper Canada.

The local population seethes and buckles under the repressive hand of the new government, and Marc expects to see some action very soon. In the meantime, the arrival of a touring American theatrical company promises an enjoyable diversion especially when Marc’s friend Rick Hilliard falls hard for a young actress. Events turn deadly when a rival for the ingénue’s affections is murdered and a disheveled Hilliard is discovered standing over the body holding a bloody sword.

Marc leaps into action to save his friend and joins forces with a local policeman, the rough-edged Constable Cobb. They soon discover, though, that the victim was secretly smuggling American rifles across the border and selling them to local radicals. Was this a crime of passion, or a criminal transaction gone wrong?

What Marc doesn’t realize until it’s too late is that the crimes will reveal incredible secrets about his own identity which will change his life forever.

Vital Secrets brings Don’s signature wit and social comedy to the streets of old Toronto – a must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Patrick O’Brien.

Read the first two chapters on Scribd.

Vital Secrets is in stores July 5th. Read more about Turncoat and Solemn Vows, the first two books in the series.

Check out some reviews for Vital Secrets:

The Globe and Mail says:
“Gutteridge weaves his tale perfectly, with believable characters and perfect scene-setting.”