Book Blogger Spotlight: Melanie’s Book Addiction

We are so fortunate here at S&S Canada to know a huge community of people who love books as much as we do and who love sharing their favourite reads and reviews with the world – book bloggers!

Today we’re launching a new monthly series, Book Blogger Spotlight, where we’ll chat with some of our bloggers, ask them to share some of their favourite authors, the books they can’t live without, and find out how they came to book blogging.

Book Blogger Spotlight kicks off with Melanie Vautour – the clever voice behind Melanie’s Book Addiction.


What made you want to start a book blog?
I’ve always been a book worm but the whole blogging community was not something I was familiar with until two years ago. It all started when an author followed me on Twitter and I checked out her blog and her books.  I then made friends who had the same interest as me.  I visited blogs, entered giveaways and toyed with the idea to start my very own blog. It was in March last year, during the Academy Awards, that I decided I wanted my very own blog. A few minutes later, Melanie’s Book Addiction was created.

 What’s your favourite reading spot?
I will read anywhere! As long as I get to read, I don’t care where I’m sitting. But if I had to choose only one favourite place, it would be in my bed curled up in a nice warm blanket with a piece of chocolate.

 Your favourite book in the last year?
It is impossible to only have one answer for this question! Some of my favourite books released last year are Lies by Micheal Grant and The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins.

 Favourite book of all time?
Tough question! The Harry Potter series and I’d have to add The Map of Time by Félix J. Palma that was just released this year.

 Favourite author?
Charlaine Harris, L.J. Smith, Stephen King, Kathy Reichs, James Patterson, Michael Grant…

 Favourite movie adaptation of a book?
Harry Potter and Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

What do you do when you’re not working on your blog?
I’m a fourth year university student studying elementary education. So that’s why I don’t have as much time as I would like to blog. For the summer I’m working at a library. It is extremely tough to look at all the books and not be able to sit down and read! I love spending time with family and friends and catching up on some of my favourite tv shows like Bones and Glee.

Do you seek reader engagement on your blog? If so, how does this affect your ideas about books and authors?
A few months ago, I created a new feature on my blog called “Ten Fun Facts About…” I requested the participation of bloggers and authors wishing to share with my blog readers ten interesting facts about themselves and/or their books. This was a great success! We got to learn more about some of our favourite authors and discover new ones.

 Do you read other blogs?
I love reading other blogs and I’m always discovering new ones to follow! I’m always looking for new books to read and checking out blog posts from fellow bookworms is a great way to add more books on one’s wish list.

How has your blog developed or changed since you first started?
I now have more authors participating whether it’s with an interview or a guest post.  I focus only on books and I even participate in some fun book blog features (In My Mailbox, Teaser Tuesday…).

3 thoughts on “Book Blogger Spotlight: Melanie’s Book Addiction

  1. Melanie so happy to say that it has been nice following your blog since it’s start and look today you are featured in an interview by S&S, how cool is that!

Comments are closed.