Book Blogger Spotlight: A Bookworm’s World

Welcome to the second month of Book Blogger Spotlight, where we chat with some of our bloggers, ask them to share some of their favourite authors, the books they can’t live without, and find out how they came to book blogging.

This month we’re bringing Luanne Ollivier out from between the pages to chat about her blog A Bookworm’s World.

What made you want to start a book blog?

I’ve always loved to read. I thought a book blog would be a great way to keep track of what I’d read and my thoughts on books and authors. Initially I had no idea that there was such a large book blogging community out there. I started connecting with other bloggers, publicists and authors and it grew in a way I never imagined!

What’s your favourite reading spot? 

That’s a seasonal decision! In the summer I love reading in the hammock hung between two massive maple trees in my backyard. In the winter I curl up in a comfy chair in my library at home. (Yes I am lucky enough to have one room all to myself and my books. I think it was my husband’s attempt to contain all the books in one place!) And my favourite spot is a little snug at the end of my upstairs hallway.

Your favourite book in the last year?

Oh boy, that’s hard to pin down – I enjoy reading many genres. I really enjoyed Left Neglected by Lisa Genova, The Woefield Poultry Collective by Susan Juby and the Midwife of Venice by Roberta Rich so far this year. But I like a good thriller as well -Linwood Barclay is a favourite. And the year’s not over yet…

Favourite book of all time?

Ahh! Another hard question. I wanted to live with The Borrowers in their little tiny world and join the Ingalls in the The Little House on the Prairie when I was younger. (Funnily enough I did work as a historical interpreter in a living history museum at one time) I wanted to be Nancy Drew too. As an adult though, I’d have to say Rush Home Road by Lori Lansens.

Favourite author?

Again, hard to pin down to just one. Lansens of course, but again, it depends on the genre. There are many mystery/thriller authors that I follow regularly. But it’s a thrill to discover a debut author or someone I haven’t sampled before.

Favourite movie adaptation of a book?

I rarely will go see a movie based on a book – adaptations always seem to fall short for me. However, I thought Shutter Island was well done.

What do you do when you’re not working on your blog?

I’m lucky enough to have a job I love – I work in a large public library, so I’m surrounded by books day and night! One of my favourite parts of my job is reader’s advisory – coming up with book suggestions for patrons. I also enjoy quilting and have a large vegetable garden. I collect odd pieces of bric-a-brac and enjoy combing through antique malls and flea markets for unusual finds.

Do you seek reader engagement on your blog? If so, how does this affect your ideas about books and authors?

I enjoy each and every comment that is left on my blog and try to respond to each one as well. I enjoy hearing someone’s thoughts on a book we’ve both read and respect differing opinions. But no, they don’t really affect my ideas.

Do you read other blogs? Which ones? 

I have to ( need to, want to!) know what books are coming soon, what’s newly released etc, so I read publisher blogs pretty much every day. My google reader is overflowing, but I try to stop by to visit blogging friends I made right at the start – BermudaOnion, Serendipitous Readings and I participate in a Canadian Challenge at The Book Mine Set and many more. I also stop by LibraryThing and Good Reads regularly.

How has your blog developed or changed since you first started?

In the beginning, I really just posted whenever I got around to it. Now I usually have a review post on Mondays, Wednesday and Fridays. Many times I hold a giveaway or author guest post on Tuesdays. I started a new feature over a year ago on Thursdays called Over the Counter, focusing on new, unusual or just plain quirky books that pass over my library counter that catch my eye. My good friend Julia contributes guest posts every so often and Ella, a teen friend, has just started contributing as a YA guest blogger. What hasn’t changed is the layout of A Bookworm’s World and that probably needs to happen sooner rather than later -suggestions gladly taken!

Make sure to check out A Bookworm’s World. You can also follow Luanne on Twitter @LuanneO.

One thought on “Book Blogger Spotlight: A Bookworm’s World

  1. These are really great questions! It is always interesting to read about an author talking about books that she draws inspiration from. If you want to hear more from Lisa I just heard from a friend that she will be on The Book Report Radio show this weekend.

Comments are closed.