Book Blogger Spotlight: Bookshipper

Welcome back to Book Blogger Spotlight, where we chat with some of our bloggers, ask them to share some of their favourite authors, the books they can’t live without, and find out how they came to book blogging.

This month we were lucky to chat with one our first ever book blogger contacts, Tina Avon of Bookshipper!

What made you want to start a book blog?

I have been reading since I was a little girl and have always loved to discuss the books I read, as well as get other people’s impressions.  Thanks to the Internet, I was given the opportunity of doing this with other readers, all over the world, by creating a book blog.  So, for me, it was a very easy decision to make.

What’s your favourite reading spot?

Unlike many of my friends, I can’t read in bed.  However, since I have to travel by public transportation (bus and subway) I have found that these are my absolute favorite places to read.  I also love reading on a train – it makes the trip go by so quickly.  I sit down and open my book and close it when I get to my destination.  I also secretly love reading in the tub, although this can be costly when I drop my book in the water (yes, this has actually happened).

Your favourite book in the last year?

I would have to say Want to go Private by Sarah Littman.  Although this book is a novel, it was incredibly scary and completely engrossing.

Favourite book of all time?

I actually have two.  I love, love Bridget Jones Diary – this book made me realize how much I adore (and still do) chick lit.  The second book is a book called Locked up for Eating too Much by Debbie Danowski.  This book saved my life while Bridget Jones Diary reminds me to laugh at  myself every day.

Favourite author?

I have many favorites, but if I had to name just one it would have to be William Tapply.  Unfortunately, he passed away last year, but he created one of my favorite “book characters” in Brady Coyne and I have read each book in this series at least 3 times.

Favourite movie adaptation of a book?

Here again, I would have to go with Bridget Jones Diary.  Now, when I reread the book, I always picture Colin Firth and Renee Zellweger.

What do you do when you’re not working on your blog?

Reading 🙂 and scouring used bookstores and libraries.  I am completely addicted to books and I spend enormous amounts of time surrounded by them.  I also like to practice yoga and Pilates and going for coffee with friends.

Do you seek reader engagement on your blog? If so, how does this affect your ideas about books and authors?

One of the reasons I started my blog was to get into contact with other book lovers and I have been fortunate enough to do this.  Through my blog, I have met other Montreal bloggers and some of us have been getting together, on a regular basis, for the last few years.  I have also been lucky enough to meet some wonderful publicists AND authors and have worked closely with them since the beginning of my blog.  I have learned a lot about the business side of the book industry.

Do you read other blogs? Which ones?

I have approximately 25 other blogs on my “blog roll”.  Of course, the Montreal Book Lovers page on Facebook is one site I spend a lot of time on.  I also enjoy reading some author blogs, as well as anything posted by my fellow Montreal Book Bloggers.  I have found that I am particularly attracted to smaller blogs, those that are more intimate.  I try to stay away from the blogs that seem to have developed into “cult followings” as I find that very few actually carry book reviews.   When I follow a blog I like to read about their views on the books they have read or find out about their lives.  I love blogs with personal pictures. I don’t really follow blogs that are focused more on getting followers through “gimmicks”.

How has your blog developed or changed since you first started?

My blog has always been about my love of books.  I have changed the “look” a little bit, but I have basically kept it the way it was when I started.  Since I don’t like blogs that are too “busy” I have strived to keep mine easy to read.  I have also made a point of updating my blog on a regular basis and to, of course, post as many honest reviews as I can.  Oh, I guess the biggest difference is that I am proud to say that I now have over 900 + reviews since I started and I am still loving each and every minute of it.

Make sure to check out Bookshipper and the Montreal Book Lovers Facebook page.

2 thoughts on “Book Blogger Spotlight: Bookshipper

  1. Hello Tina!!! What a wonderful post! I would have to agree that your reasons for blogging are the same as mine. I really enjoy getting to know other book lovers and sharing ideas and thoughts about the books we read. I am definitely a book addict, I must spend at least 8-10 hours a week shopping for more books! Thank you for sharing your story Tina!!! Can’t wait to chat!

  2. Tina, you look extremely happy surrounded by books! I loved reading this piece about you because I got to know you better. Thanks for mentioning our Facebook page.

Comments are closed.