Ellen Hopkins’ Triangles…not your mother’s poetry

I studied English in University. As a prerequisite for graduation I had to complete a certain number of poerty courses. This stipulation was met with many a groan on my part. Poetry is NOT my thing. Never has been. I struggled with disecting the meaning behind the words all through high school and into my university days. My Romantic Poetry and Prose course in third year was especially gruelling.

Why am I telling you all this? Well, I’m trying to convey to you my dislike of all things poetry….until I discovered Ellen Hopkins. Already a bestselling YA novelist, I had never read any of her books until I found out I would be working on her upcoming novel Triangles, her first foray into adult fiction. Ellen differs from other authors in that her novels are written entirely in verse. Great, I thought to myself, I’m going to HATE this. I’m going to have to slog through, detesting every page, every stanza. Boy was I ever mistaken.

After a few pages, I had completely forgotten that the book was written in verse and was entirely engrossed in the story. Let me tell you a little bit about the book.

It follows the lives of three women, Marissa, Andrea and Holly, as they approach middle age. Each is struggling with their own issues and are questioning whether they’ve achieved what they wanted to in life by age forty.

Holly: Filled with regret for being a stay-at-home mom, she sheds sixty pounds and loses herself in the world of extramarital sex. Will it bring the fulfillment she is searching for?

Andrea: A single mom and avowed celibate, she watches her friend Holly’s meltdown with a mixture of concern and contempt. Holly is throwing away what Andrea has spent her whole life searching for—a committed relationship with a decent guy. So what if Andrea picks up Holly’s castaway husband?

Marissa: She has more than her fair share of challenges—a gay, rebellious teenage son, a terminally ill daughter, and a husband who buries himself in his work rather than face the facts.

I sent out advance reading copies to some of our book bloggers and we’ve had nothing but rave reviews. Check out what they had to say below.

Melanie’s Book Addiction says, “Readers will without a doubt relate to some of these characters and enjoy reading about their far from perfect lives.” 

Gobshites and Eejits says, “The poetry is thoughtful, insightful, and heartbreaking, as well as funny, beautiful, and sexy. I raced through this book hoping each story would end the way I wanted and I just wanted more, more, more when it was over.”

Books and Brands did an awesome video review:

Aisle B calls it, “Impressive and raw – a work I would recommend to those who are willing to discover its creativity.”

Burning Impossibly Bright raved, “If you’re a bit hesitant to try poetic verse, like I was, I say go for it! Don’t be afraid, and give it a chance. You might love it like I did, and after reading Triangles, I can definitely say that I’ve become an Ellen Hopkins fan for life!”

Visit Ellen Hopkins website www.ellenhopkins.com or follow her on Twitter @EllenHopkinsYA.

Triangles is in stores October 18th.