The Canal House

Cookbooks are a dime a dozen – and that’s not to say they are not of fantastic quality, but it sure makes it tough to choose.  My dad is a phenomenal cook, and cookbooks are my Christmas go-to, but finding him the perfect one definitely gives me premature greys.  A cookbook needs more than just recipes, it needs a feel.  That’s why I am so excited that already (in October) I have found my dad’s Christmas gift.  If you have never heard of The Canal House, I beg you to do a bit of browsing.

Started by Christopher Hirsheimer and Melissa Hamilton, The Canal House Cookbooks are a simple delight.  Full of vibrant colour, talented photography, plenty of mouth-watering recipes and a serious amount of spunk, I could not find a better recommendation for you!  Titled The Canal House for their historic brick loft studio-space overlooking a canal full of ducks, this duo lacks no rustic charm.  Each recipe is told as though you were being instructed by a friend and the commentary is smart, sharp and fun.  After six successful cookbooks in only three years, The Canal House is already preparing for their next release later this year.  If you have not already indulged in any of the previous books, I assure you, you will not be disappointed when you do!