Book Blogger Spotlight: Rayment’s Readings, Rants and Ramblings

Welcome back to Book Blogger Spotlight, where we chat with some of our bloggers, ask them to share some of their favourite authors, the books they can’t live without, and find out how they came to book blogging.

This month we’re hearing from Jennifer Rayment, of Rayment’s Readings, Rants and Ramblings.

What made you want to start a book blog?

I love to read and I wanted to pass on my passion for books that I have read to others.  It all started at work during a session where we were encouraged to start a blog in order to help our students with blogging technology.   So technically I can actually work on my blog at work, since I need to have the skills to help others.

What’s your favourite reading spot?

My favorite reading spot is curled up on the couch downstairs with my kitty and a nice glass of red wine or a Tim Horton’s Coffee.   I Love to read while camping too, but my kids are little and they do not like to be ignored.

Your favourite book in the last year?

Wow, that’s a very hard question since I read so many different genres and age ranges.  Best Fiction this year definitely has to be The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman. When I received it in the mail, I wasn’t expecting to like it but it was so engrossing and beautiful that I could not put it down. Best YA hands down is Divergent by Veronica Roth.   It has a strong kick ass female character, an intriguing storyline and some humour which is a big must for me.

Favourite book of all time?

The Stand by Stephen King.  I basically read it once a year – usually when I’m home sick as it gives it a more frightening experience. I love the characters, the epic storyline and well it’s just one of those stories that frighten you because there is always that chance that it could happen.  Obviously not the Randall Flagg bits, but a deadly flu created by man, yup it could happen.  My favorite kid’s book is The Lorax by Dr Seuss and I am actually getting a tattoo of it next week.  My Dad used to read it to me all the time & it has such an important message to impart to future generations.  Plus those Bar-ba-loots are adorable; they remind me of my playful little heathens.

Favourite author?

Again this is way too hard to choose just one. In the Paranormal genre I will read anything by Julie Kenner, Jennifer Estep, Marta Acosta and Jeaniene Frost. Their books always have strong female characters and they are guaranteed to make me LMAO.  I’m not the biggest fan of straight romance (find them unrealistic), but I will always purchase historical romances by Bertrice Small. I love her epic storylines filled with sassy strong heroines who get up to lots of naughty stuff.  These days I am reading a lot of YA, and the writing is spectacular. Current favorites are Meg Cabot, Veronica Roth, Kelley Armstrong, Kiersten White and far too many others to mention

Favourite movie adaptation of a book?

Have to say the Lord of the Rings trilogy since it is such an imaginative story filled with unusual and fascinating characters, and since I have issues with reading Fantasy, this way I could at least experience it. The effects are spectacular and hello Viggo Mortensen is seriously hot as Strider/Aragorn. My favorite short story adapted to film is Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption which was made into The Shawshank Redemption. It is truly a beautiful story of hope and the acting is top notch.

What do you do when you’re not working on your blog?

I work full time as a  Library Technician at Humber College.   I’m also a mom to two adorable and crazy sons and I love hanging with them, my husband Jeff and our Cat Oreo.  I also love to bake and am constantly bringing treats to all the author signings I have attended. And obviously during that leftover time you can always find me reading or watching one of my favorite TV shows like Castle, Chuck, or anything Joss Whedon related.

Do you seek reader engagement on your blog? If so, how does this affect your ideas about books and authors?

I would love to have more reader engagement on my blog since it would be nice to know that what I am writing about is helping someone discover some fantastic books and authors. Unfortunately, I haven’t found a way yet of encouraging more dialogue. Hopefully this is something I will be working on this year.  I love hearing from my readers about their opinions on the books I have read and suggestions they might have for me.   One of the best things that has happened since starting this blog is meeting so many fellow book addicts like myself. I have met some incredible publicists, authors, publishing reps, bloggers and so many others in the social media field.

Do you read other blogs? Which ones?

I love reading other blogs and have discovered so much about blogging from each and every one of them.  My current favorites are My Disorganized RamblingsHe Followed Me Home, Lavender Lines, Stacy’s Books and Read and Riot –  and I totally apologize for all those I didn’t mention : )

How has your blog developed or changed since you first started?

Things are lot more organized and streamlined now, not so over the place.  I found that I was struggling to write reviews like other bloggers and it wasn’t working for me. Now I just do point form, which honestly, is how I like to hear others’ thoughts on a book. I don’t want to read the plot of the book; I just want to know the basics of why you did or did not like it. I’m a busy mom; I don’t have time to read long reviews.

One thought on “Book Blogger Spotlight: Rayment’s Readings, Rants and Ramblings

Comments are closed.