Book Blogger Spotlight: Cindy’s Love Of Books

It’s the February feature of Book Blogger Spotlight, where we chat with some of our bloggers, ask them to share some of their favourite authors, the books they can’t live without, and find out how they came to book blogging.

This month we’re hearing from Cindy of Cindy’s Love Of Books.

What made you want to start a book blog?
I have always been a reader and always recommending books and it was only when my son started kindergarten (4 years ago) that I realized that I wanted to start documenting what I read and thought of books. Someone I knew had recommended doing it online so I started researching and stumbled upon other people who had a passion for reading doing the same thing. So I figured why not, I have time on my hands to do it while he was at school.

What’s your favourite reading spot?
My favorite reading spot currently is the living room, curled up on the couch. Although that will change once we get our family room renovated in a few weeks. I will have the back section where I will have my books placed in a new home on wall to wall bookcases and a nice comfy chair in front to sit and read.

Your favourite book in the last year?
I read so many great books last year that I don’t think I could pick just one. I read and enjoyed The Water Wars by Cameron Stracher, Holly Black’s White Cat and Red Glove (can’t wait for the new one to come out) and so many other great books.

Favourite book of all time?
My favorite book of all time is Wuthering Heights. I read it when I was in high school and to this day its the only book that I can re-read over and over again.

Favourite author?
I have so many favorite authors and probably too many to list but hands down favourites are James Patterson, Sophie Kinsella, Kelley Armstrong, Holly Black, and Cassandra Clare. This list grows everytime I discover a new author.

Favourite movie adaptation of a book?
I usually don’t watch a movie adaptation of a book but the one that I really want to go and see is Hugo. I borrowed the book from my son’s school library and enjoyed it so I am curious to see how it will play out.

What do you do when you’re not working on your blog?
When I am not working on my blog, I am probably reading, helping my son with his homework, or taking him to hockey or curling. I have just started knitting so that is something else I do when I am not blogging.

Do you seek reader engagement on your blog? If so, how does this affect your ideas about books and authors?
I love when my readers stop by and comment on my blog. I am like a little kid in the candy store when I go into my blog to discover a new comment from a reader. It’s really exciting and it makes you feel good knowing that someone takes the time to do that. I have to admit that I am a little bad at commenting on other blogs. That is my new year’s resolution though.

Do you read other blogs? Which ones?
Yes. I read so many blogs and try to read them all but its hard so I make the effort to at least read them weekly. My favorites are read daily.

Some of the ones I read all the time are:
Tina at http://bookshipper.blogspot.com
Lucy at http://moonlightgleam.com
Kathy at http://bermudaonion.net
Sheila at http://bookjourney.wordpress.com/
Marci at http://serendipitous-readings.com/
Marie at http://lazydaisy0413.blogspot.com/

These are just a few of the ones I read. There are so many more!

How has your blog developed or changed since you first started?
One of the things that has changed since I first started blogging is the look. I have changed that so many times and I think I finally found something that I truly love. I know my reading taste has changed dramatically since blogging. I have opened up and tried so many genres and authors that I wouldn’t have before. I think I have grown more as a person and so has the way I write.

7 thoughts on “Book Blogger Spotlight: Cindy’s Love Of Books

Comments are closed.