Bloodman: The new Luther?

Image

I love Luther. This BBC show has a style to which I’m not accustomed. It has a smoothness about it, an addictive pacing and more than anything, a darkness. It’s this darkness that grabbed me first and it’s this same darkness that I find myself looking for in other mediums. I’ve since found it in books like Blacklands, by Belinda Bauer and in the works of James Lee Burke. Now, I’ve found it again.

Bloodman, by Robert Pobi, is a psychological thriller written with a literary strength that makes even the grotesque, beautiful. It has a twisting, disturbing plotline, tangled up with the urgency of a coming storm and the weight of old family scars drawn up to surface.

Bloodman releases March 27th, 2012. At last count, rights have been snapped up in nine countries already. For an early taste, Robert Pobi is featuring an exclusive excerpt on his Facebook page. You can also visit his website: RobertPobi.com.