Book Blogger Spotlight: Serendipitous Readings

We’re excited to bring you our June Book Blogger Spotlight! This is where we chat with one of our bloggers, ask them to share some of their favorite authors, the books they can’t live without, and find out how they came to book blogging.

This month, we bring you our chat with Marci, from Serendipitous Readings. You can find her on Twitter @SerendipReads.

What made you want to start a book blog?

I wanted to see if there were people out in the blogosphere that had the same taste of books I had, as well as opinions – and how they differed.  I have come to find that not only are people opinioned about books they are just as or more than I am!

What’s your favorite reading spot? 

Favorite reading spot in the summer has to be outside – in a chair, on the grass, on the beach, have book will travel!

Your favorite book in the last year? 

I just read one called The Gods of Gotham by Lyndsay Faye absolutely could not put it down for the 12 or so hours it was glued…wait I was glued to it!

Favorite book of all time? 

I would have to say The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill

Favorite author? 

Just one ?!? I have so many!  Lawrence Hill, Philippa Gregory, Scott Westerfeld, Vincent Lam,  Andrew Pyper..the list could go on, and on and on!

Favorite movie adaptation of a book?

I would have to say The Soloist by Steve Lopez.  Some or most of the political issues weren’t included in the movie, but still a fabulous book!

What do you do when you’re not working on your blog? 

I take our dog Remington out for walks, I talk about people about books, I am on twitter, facebook, and because I’m a single parent, doing all of the running around that needs to be done!

Do you seek reader engagement on your blog? If so, how does this affect your ideas about books and authors? 

I do seek reader engagement.  I believe that everyone has a valuable opinion and it usually doesn’t affect the ideas – thoughts I have about books and authors.  When I’m reading a book for review, I try not to read other reviews until I am finished.  I don’t want their interpretations of the same book I’m reading to skew my opinion.  Even on social media websites there is the occasional scuffle which either includes a blogger, an author, both or something /someone else.  In the beginning, it was exciting to hear all of the drama (right?) Now I’m more of the thing about all of us getting along and supporting one another, trying to work things out.  Life is too short, wouldn’t you agree?   But, there have been times when an author has gone all up and down someone and I thought wow, how can I make this not happen to me or to someone else? Or what has made the author so angry to make them explode on a public forum like that, it must have been bad if they have gone and done that!

Do you read other blogs? Which ones?

Sure I do, mostly when there is a book I haven’t heard about or a geek blog such as Mashable, Good E-Reader.  Like I had said earlier, I don’t really read book blogs unless there is a book that I haven’t heard of, or it has had a fantastic review of one I have already read and adored.

How has your blog developed or changed since you first started?

I guess in the beginning it was all new and exciting, I created a blog on Blogger.  After about a year or so after that I moved to WordPress and just last year I created my own site now that I pay for out of my own pocket, which I hope that will stay as relevant as any other blog out there.  I try to look beyond what the person is trying to say in the comments or when they send me an email about an issue I have covered and try to help them as much as I can.  There are the usual ups and downs, but I try not to let that get to me.  Everyone has their own opinion and they are welcome to share it, even though I may or may not agree/disagree with it.