Book Blogger Spotlight: Just a Lil’ Lost

We’re excited to bring you our October Book Blogger Spotlight! This is where we chat with one of our bloggers, ask them to share some of their favorite authors, the books they can’t live without, and find out how they came to book blogging.

This month, we bring you our chat with the wonderful Michele from Just a Lil’ Lost. You can follow her on Twitter @JustaLilLost.

What made you want to start a book blog?

I have always loved blogging, and used the Post a Day Challenge on WordPress last year to get back into the swing of things. A friend noticed that I often wrote about books that I was reading so she suggested I look into book blogging! I’m surprised I didn’t immediately think of doing that to begin with, since I always wanted my blog to have a main topic… this was really just inevitable!

What’s your favourite reading spot?

Anywhere! I will always have a book with me so anywhere I can get a chance to read is a favourite spot. I actually enjoy reading while commuting. It makes the trek go by faster, and if it’s somewhere further I have to go, I just figure it’s more reading time for me!

Your favourite book in the last year?

My favourite book of last year was The Help by Kathryn Stockett. I absolutely loved that book, and quite enjoyed the movie as well.

Favourite book of all time?

Favourite book of all time would have to be the Harry Potter series. I know, I know… it’s not ONE book but those really are my favourite. I don’t re-read books except for this series. But, if I absolutely had to pick a favourite from the series, I’d say it’s #6 – Half Blood Prince.

Favourite author?

Going along with my previous answer, it would have to be J.K. Rowling – for sure. It’s so inspirational how she started writing, while sitting in a coffee shop and having publishers turn down her manuscript before it finally got published. Rags to riches… it’s amazing.

Favourite movie adaptation of a book?

That’s a tough one… at the risk of sounding repetitive and saying Harry Potter again (even though they are my fave) I’ll say The Notebook. I thought the book was okay but I absolutely loved the movie. I joke that I tend to have a cold heart towards sappy movies or books but this film had me bawling!

What do you do when you’re not working on your blog?

When I’m not downing Starbucks’ caramel macchiatos at my day job in marketing or out with friends for brunch, I can be found with a book and my laptop, near a TV. Besides reading, I am also a bit of a TV junkie and, like I am with books, there are way too many good shows that I don’t get a chance to check out. There is just not enough time in a day to read all the books, and watch all the shows, that I’d like to!

Do you seek reader engagement on your blog? If so, how does this affect your ideas about books and authors?

Hmm yes and no.. I welcome comments and thoughts on reviews or other posts that I may have up on the blog. It’s more when I’m reading reviews that I tend to be more selective. There was a highly-anticipated book last year that I was very excited about. In passing, accidentally, came across someone’s thoughts on it and the one thing they had a problem with it. The entire time I was reading the book, I couldn’t get that issue out of my head because the seed had been planted. I hate spoilers, so I tend to stay away from reviews on books that I plan on reading soon, just so it won’t taint or bias my own view of it.

Do you read other blogs? Which ones?

I read many other book blogs – which would be too numerous to list. Other than that, I frequent Entertainment Weekly‘s site, and sometimes Wired, Gizmodo and Jezebel.

How has your blog developed or changed since you first started?

When I first started it, it was a blog about anything of interest that came to mind. It developed into what it is now, a “mostly-book blog” where I still can use it to discuss particular topics that I find interesting, share my photographs and – of course – discuss all things book related

2 thoughts on “Book Blogger Spotlight: Just a Lil’ Lost

Comments are closed.